Thru the power of a horse, my daughter is growing into a strong woman. She has learned the satisfaction of hard work as she has thrown bales of hay off a wagon in temperatures the Devil wouldn’t work in. She has learned how to control the direction and speed of a 1200 pound animal thru the use of her legs alone.

Thru the power of a horse, my daughter is growing into a confident woman. She has learned to pick herself up off the ground and try it again until she gets it right. She has reaped the rewards of swallowing her fears and trying things she never imagined she could – rewards that extend beyond any 95 cent ribbon she may receive.

Thru the power of a horse, my daughter is growing into a woman of compassion. She has become in tune to the behavior and habits of her horse and senses her needs. She knows when her horse needs rest, is hurting, or just needs extra love. She knows unconditional love.

Thru the power of a horse, my daughter is growing into a generous woman. I have watched her open her tack box to offer brushes and supplies to others in need. She has given up her hard-earned rest time to help someone else prepare their horse for show.

Thru the power of a horse, my daughter is growing into a woman of forgiveness. She has learned that animals have bad days too and that it’s okay because tomorrow is another day. She has encountered the inevitable poor sports and has shrugged it off, knowing she can only control herself and her own actions.

Thru the power of a horse, my daughter is growing into a graceful woman. She has bent and flexed with her horse as they have beautifully cleared rails and fences. She has held her head high and kept a smile on her face even when things have gone every way but right.

Thru the power of a horse, my daughter is growing into a woman of discipline. She has traded in easy fun times to work tireless hours to improve her skills. I have watched her make sure her horse’s needs were taken care of before her own.

Thru the power of a horse, my daughter is growing into a responsible woman. She has bypassed the latest toys and material possessions in order to provide for her horse. She understands the value of a dollar and that horses are an expensive investment where the return is far more valuable than anything money can buy.

Thru the power of a horse, my daughter is growing into a woman of perseverance. I’ve watched her push her horse thru the “scary monster” obstacles, while encouraging her with soft-spoken words. She has kept at the difficult patterns and the frustrating set-backs until she is satisfied with the results.

Thru the power of a horse, my daughter is growing into a smart woman. She knows when being safe is more important than pushing beyond acceptable limits. I’ve watched her problem-solve situations on the fly from horseback with amazing speed and common sense.

Thru the power of a horse, my daughter is becoming a woman with strong inter-personal skills. We have laughed and cried together thru the ups and downs. We’ve shared countless hours telling stories while braiding manes and tails until our fingers were bloody and sore.

Thru the power of a horse, my daughter is becoming a well-rounded woman. She understands that winning isn’t everything. I’ve watched her cry tears of sorrow into her horse’s mane, yet emerge from the stall even stronger than she was before. When she’s sick, she wants her “horse time”. When she’s happy, she smiles even bigger when with her horse. She has matured beyond her years, yet is enjoying her childhood….all thru the power of a horse.

Thru the power of a horse, my daughter is becoming a woman I am proud of. She is one tough chick who will be able to make her own decisions and hold her own with the best of them. Most importantly, she understands that memories and emotional health far outweigh anything money could ever buy.

I am proud to call her mine, just as she is proud to call her powerful horse hers.